5G Transformation with Open Source – 2020 Spotlight Series

Sep 08, 2020 to Sep 09, 2020 | Virtual

5G OpenSource ONF SPOTLIGHT 1 1024x159 jpg

 

5G is transforming the network in two distinct and equally important ways.  On the application front, 5G needs to support massive IoT, latency sensitive edge applications and mission critical functions.  On the other hand, 5G infrastructure needs to deliver desperately needed CAPEX/OPEX and spectral efficiencies while disaggregating the network (both hardware and software) to allow for the democratization of the network so new entrants can innovate and bring forward new disruptive solutions.

While organizations like O-RAN and 3GPP are driving standardization of disaggregated architectures, history has shown that applying SDN design principles and creating open source implementations for components of the disaggregated architecture will serve as major drivers for innovation, enabling both technological and business transformation.

The 5G Transformation with Open Source Spotlight will take a deeper look at the various open source initiatives being implemented across both the RAN and Core mobile ecosystems, highlighting innovative disaggregated architectures that are being researched and pursued, and providing perspective and insight into the business impact of this massive transformation taking place across the mobile ecosystem.

This forum will include exciting live keynotes as well as an extensive list of on-demand panels and presentations by industry experts. Don’t miss this exciting event.

Register Now

 

LIVE KEYNOTES

September 8, 2020 – 7am San Francisco | 10am New York | 4pm Berlin | 7:30pm Delhi | 10pm Beijing

Tareq Amin, CTO, RakutenTareq 150x150 png

“Vision to Reality Experience”

 

 

 

igal2 150x150 jpgIgal Elbaz, Senior Vice President Wireless & Access Technology, AT&T

 

 

 

 

Oguz Sunay 150x150 jpgDr. Oguz Sunay, Vice President R&D Mobility, Open Networking Foundation

 

 

 

 

 

September 9, 2020 – 9am Beijing / September 8, 2020 – 6pm San Francisco | 9pm New York

Presentations in Mandarin

unnamed 150x150 jpgDr. Chih-Lin I, Chief Scientist Wireless Technologies, China Mobile

“Embracing Open Ecosystem”

 

 

 

unnamed 1 1 150x150 jpgDr. Tang Xiongyan, Chief Scientist, China Unicom

“Open Networking Research and CORD Practice at China Unicom”

 

 

 

 

 

September 9, 2020 – 7am San Francisco | 10am New York | 4pm Berlin | 7:30pm Delhi | 10pm Beijing

Alex 150x150 jpgDr. Alex Choi, Senior VP, Head of Strategy & Technology Innovation, Deutsche Telekom

“Open Platform based 5G – On the road to the Software Telco”

 

 

 

 

John Smee Photo 150x150 jpg

Dr. John Smee, Vice President Engineering, Qualcomm

“Deploying 5G faster with vRAN”

 

 

 

 

larry peterson 150x150 jpgLarry Peterson, CTO, Open Networking Foundation

“The Network as a Programmable Platform: A Look at 5G Through an SDN Lens”

 

 

 

 

 

ON-DEMAND KEYNOTES

  • Sachin Katti, Professor, Stanford University; Advisor Strategy, VMware & Co-Chair O-RAN Alliance TSC
  • Petr Lédl, VP Network Trials & Head of 5G Haus Deutsche Telekom
  • Dr. Chih-Lin I, Chief Scientist Wireless Technologies, China Mobile & Co-Chair O-RAN TSC
  • Dr. Preston Marshall, Engineering Director, Google & Vice Chairman & Board Member, CBRS Alliance
  • Pranav Mehta, VP & Director, Systems and Software Research, Intel

DISAGGREGATING AND SDN’IZING THE RAN PANEL

  • Dr. Chih-Lin I, Chief Scientist Wireless Technologies, China Mobile & Co-Chair O-RAN TSC
  • Petr Lédl, VP Network Trials & Head of 5G Haus Deutsche Telekom & TSC member O-RAN
  • Ganesh Shenbagaraman, VP Engineering, Radisys & O-RAN WG8 Co-Chair

5G OPEN RAN PANELS & DISCUSSIONS

  • Anil Bhandari, VP Product Management Altiostar
  • Ben Lin, CTO & Co-founder, Sercomm
  • Bejoy Pankajakshan, EVP & Chief Strategy Officer, Mavenir
  • Steve Papa, Founder & CEO, Parallel Wireless
  • Dr. Oguz Sunay, VP R&D Mobility, Open Networking Foundation
  • Sandro Tavares, Head of Mobile Networks Marketing, Nokia
  • Bai Wei, VP & GM International Marketing Division, Baicells
  • Patrick Lopez, Founder & CEO , Core Analysis (Moderator)

OPEN RAN VENDOR TALKS

  • Arnaud Polster, VP Sales & Business Development, Accelleran
  • Anil Bhandari, VP Product Management, Altiostar
  • Bai Wei, VP & GM International Marketing Division, Baicells Technologies
  • Bejoy Pankajakshan, EVP & Chief Strategy Officer, Mavenir
  • Sandro Tavares, Head of Mobile Networks Marketing, Nokia
  • Steve Papa, Founder & CEO, Parallel Wireless
  • Prakash Siva, Head of Hardware & Cloud Engineering, Radisys
  • Ben Lin, CTO & Co-founder, Sercomm

TECHNICAL TALKS

  • Vikram Barate, Director of Engineering Communication Technologies & Himanshu Purohit, Associate Architect, GSLab
  • Jyh-Cheng Chen, Chair Professor; Yi-Bing Lin, CS, Masters Student; Yan-Jie Lin, Masters Student, NCTU
  • Yi-Sung Chiu, NCTU
  • Suresh Krishnan, CTO, Kaloom
  • Christian Maciocco, Director & Principal Engineer, Telecom Systems Research, Intel & Shilpa Talwar, Intel Fellow & Director of Wireless Multi-Communication Systems, Intel
  • Hidetaka Nishihara, Engineer, NTT East Corp.
  • Yiannis Yiakoumis, Co-founder & CEO, Selfie Networks
  • Shinji Yonesaka, NTT West

Register Now

 

Thank you to our Sponsors

5G Sponsors 1024x286 png

 

 

Live Keynotes & On-Demand Content

REGISTER NOW