Euro P4 2022

Dec 09, 2022 to Dec 09, 2022 | Rome, Italy

Euro P4 2022 1 png


EuroP4 2022 will take place December 9th and is being held in conjunction with CoNEXT 2022 (December 6-9, 2022) in Rome, Italy.

The 5th European P4 Workshop (EuroP4) will bring together networking researchers to discuss cutting-edge P4-based research and projects, P4-based tools, and the needs of the community. The workshop aims to forge connections between researchers, introduce more networking researchers to the P4 community, and seed future top-tier publications and innovation.


9:30 - 9:45 Opening

9:45 - 10:30 Keynote 1: Justine Sherry

10:30 - 11:00 Coffee break

11:00 - 12:00 Session 1: Architectures and Language

Reducing P4 Language's Voluminosity using Higher-Level Constructs 
Albert Gran Alcoz (ETH Zürich), Coralie Busse-Grawitz (ETH Zürich), Eric Marty (ETH Zürich), Laurent Vanbever (ETH Zürich)
Compiling Packet Programs to dRMT Switches: Theory and Algorithms 
Balázs Vass (Budapest University of Technology and Economics), Ádám Fraknói (Eötvös Loránd University), Erika Bérczi-Kovács (Eötvös Loránd University), Gábor Rétvári (Budapest University of Technology and Economics)
In-Network Fractional Calculations using P4 for Scientific Computing Workloads 
Shivam Patel (Illinois Institute of Technology), Rigden Atsatsang (Illinois Institute of Technology), Kenneth M Tichauer (Illinois Institute of Technology), Michael H L S Wang (Fermilab), James B Kowalkowski (Fermilab), Nik Sultana (Illinois Institute of Technology)
HOL4P4: Semantics for a Verified Data Plane 
Anoud Alshnakat (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Didrik Lundberg (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Saab AB), Roberto Guanciale (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Mads Dam (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Karl Palmskog (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)

12:00 - 13:30 30 Minute Break + 1-Hour Lunch

13:30 - 14:10 Keynote 2: Roberto Bifulco

14:15 - 15:00 Session 2: Security

BACKORDERS: Using Random Forests to Detect DDoS Attacks in Programmable Data Planes 
Bruno Coelho (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS)), Alberto Schaeffer-Filho (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS))
A P4-Based Content-Aware Approach to Mitigate Slow HTTP POST Attacks 
Chih-Yu Hsieh (National Taiwan University), Hong-Yen Chen (National Taiwan University), Shan-Hsiang Shen (National Taiwan University of Science and Technology), Chen-Hsiang Hung (National Taiwan University), Tsung-Nan Lin (National Taiwan University)
On Implementing ChaCha on a Programmable Switch (Short Paper)
Yutaro Yoshinaka (Osaka University), Junji Takemasa (Osaka University), Yuki Koizumi (Osaka University), Toru Hasegawa (Osaka University)

15:00 - 15:30 Coffee break

15:30 - 16:45 Session 3: Monitoring and Applications

Causal Network Telemetry 
Yunhe Liu (Cornell University), Nate Foster (Cornell University), Fred B. Schneider (Cornell University)
Innovative network monitoring techniques through In-band Inter Packet Gap Telemetry (IPGNET) (Short Paper)
Francisco Germano Vogt (University of Campinas), Fabricio Rodriguez (University of Campinas), Christian Esteve Rothenberg (University of Campinas), Gergely Pongrácz (Ericsson Research)
Sketch-based Entropy Estimation: a Tabular Interpolation Approach Using P4 (Short Paper)
Yu-Kuen Lai (Chung-Yuan Christian University), Se-Young Yu (International Center for Advanced Internet Research), Iek-Seng Chan (Chung-Yuan Christian University), Bo-Hsun Huang (Chung-Yuan Christian University), Che-Hao Chang (National Taiwan University), Jim Hao Chen (International Center for Advanced Internet Research), Joe Mambretti (International Center for Advanced Internet Research)
In-network Angle Approximation for Supporting Adaptive Beamforming 
Hiba Mallouhi (ELTE Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary), Jaspreet Kaur (University of Glasgow), Hasan Tahir Abbas (University of Glasgow), Sándor Laki (ELTE Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary)
Distributed DNN Serving in the Network Data Plane (Short Paper)
Kamran Razavi (Technical University of Darmstadt), George Karlos (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Vinod Nigade (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Max Mülhäuser (Technische Universität Darmstadt), Lin Wang (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)

16:45 - 17:00 Closing Remarks


Organizer Co-Chairs

  • Gianni Antichi, Queen Mary University of London
  • Fernando Ramos, University of Lisbon

TPC Co-Chairs

  • Marco Chiesa, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Shir Landau Feibish, Open University of Israel

Publicity Chair

  • Marco Savi, University of Milano-Bicocca

Program Committee

  • Alan Zaoxing Liu (Boston University)
  • Amedeo Sapio (Intel)
  • Ben Pfaff (VMware)
  • Daehyeok Kim (Microsoft Research)
  • Damu Ding (University of Oxford)
  • Gábor Rétvári (Budapest University of Technology and Economics)
  • Hyojoon Kim (Princeton University)
  • Mihai Budiu (VMware Research)
  • Mina Tahmasbi Arashloo (University of Waterloo)
  • Muhammad Shahbaz (Purdue University)
  • Ori Rottenstreich (Technion)
  • Roberto Bifulco (NEC Laboratories Europe)
  • Salvatore Signorello (University of Lisbon)
  • Sándor Laki (Eötvös Loránd University)
  • Simone Ferlin (Red Hat, Karlstad university)

Register Here